Printing boats with James Dodds

It has been a glorious summer! As well as editing my website (take a look now: http://www.jessicajanecharleston.com), I have been assisting Jamie Dodds print boats and set type. James Dodds is an incredible artist (‘He is arguably East Anglia’s most famous contemporary artist after Dame Maggi Hambling’ (Thanks Wiki) ) he runs Jardine Press with his wife Catherine (book-binder / potter / painter extraordinaire). We at Shed Press have printed a book jacket for the Jardine’s publication Allotment  (poetry by my father David Charleston). This week Jamie and I got his Wharfdale press running (see photo of me below looking very chuffed)! We are now hand-setting a poem for print, I will keep you updated. September has arrived and tomorrow I start my drawing intensive course at The Royal Drawing School.

Check out this video of Jamie and I printing a boat:

[vimeo https://vimeo.com/136012887]

Jess at Jamie's_1

Leave a Reply

